Skip to Content

Is Raisin Bran Gluten Free? Alternatives to Try!

Many families start their days with a bowl of breakfast cereal. Especially growing up, very few days went by where my sister and I didn’t enjoy a big bowl of some yummy cereal at our family dining table.

If you or someone in your family follow a gluten free diet, whether because of gluten intolerance or celiac disease, finding delicious cereals are harder but there are still plenty of options available.

In this article, we will take a look at the long-time classic cereal, Raisin Bran, and explore a few tasty alternatives too.

is raisin bran gluten free

Is Raisin Bran Gluten Free?

Is Raisin Bran Gluten Free? It’s a good question. Raisin bran is delicious, but sadly the answer is no. Raisin Bran is not gluten free because the very first ingredient according to the Kellogg’s website is wheat which contains gluten.

So, while Raisin Bran may be a delicious and healthy breakfast option, it’s not suitable for those with celiac disease or a gluten intolerance.

Related Article: Top 13 Gluten Free Cereals

What is in Raisin Bran?

The ingredients in Raisin Bran are surprisingly simple. They include whole grain wheat, raisins, wheat bran, sugar, and brown sugar syrup. Contains 2% or less malt flavor, and salt.

Is Raisin Bran Crunch Gluten Free?

Unfortunately not, just like the original Raisin Bran the first ingredient in this variety is wheat as well.

Ingredients list: whole grain wheat, sugar, rice, raisins, wheat bran, whole grain oats, brown sugar syrup, vegetable glycerin. Contains 2% or less of corn syrup, salt, natural flavor, modified corn starch, molasses, palm oil, cinnamon, honey, mixed tocopherols (vitamin E) for freshness.

Is Raisin Nut Bran Gluten Free?

No, Raisin Nut Bran is not gluten free. This cereal is General Mills’ version of Raisin bran and has similar ingredients including wheat.

Tasty alternatives to Try

If you’re looking for a delicious and GF alternative to Raisin Bran there are plenty of options available. Here are a few of our favorites:

Nature’s Path Organic Cereal, Mesa Sunrise with Raisins

If you are wondering if there is a gluten free raisin cereal, the answer is yes! This one, from Nature’s Path, is the closest copy I have found for Raisn Bran. A crunchy cereal made with Non-GMO corn, Omega-3 rich flax seeds, and a sprinkle of juicy raisins. This cereal will totally satisify your craving for a hearty, healthy cereal with raisins.

Arrowhead Mills Organic Maple Buckwheat Flakes Gluten Free

While you’ll have to add your own raisins to this cereal, the maple-sweetened buckwheat flakes are so delicious, you won’t mind the extra step.

The Take Away

In conclusion, Raisin Bran is not gluten free. However, there are many other delicious and healthy breakfast cereals to choose from if you follow a gluten free diet. Be sure to check the labels carefully before purchasing any cereal to ensure it is truly gluten free. Thanks for reading!

I hope this article was helpful in answering your question!

Looking for other gluten free cereals? Check out these articles: Is Kix Gluten Free and Is Crispix Gluten Free.