Skip to Content

Is Twix Gluten Free? The Answer + GF Alternatives

Caramel deliciousness draped over crunchy shortbread and dipped in milk chocolate, it’s no wonder why Twix is such a popular treat. But is Twix gluten-free? If you follow a gluten-free diet or have Celiac disease, the answer to this question is highly important. We gotta have our candy too!

No matter what you need to know, this article has all the info you need to know about Twix. Plus, get the scoop on some delicious alternatives to try and even a recipe to make our own Twix at home.

Let’s dive in!

Is Twix Gluten Free?

Twix candy bars are essentially a shortbread covered with a caramel layer and then dipped in chocolate. The chocolate and caramel are safe to eat, however, the shortbread is made with wheat flour, which contains gluten. So, unfortunately, Twix are not gluten-free.

Gluten-Free Alternatives

Sometimes finding a simple swap is the easiest way to fulfill a craving for a food on the “not safe” list. In this case, we are looking for candy with chocolate and caramel to mimic the flavors in Twix.

Some good options to try are:

  • Carmello
  • Rolo
  • Ghiradelli Milk Chocolate and Caramel Squares

If none of these candies do the trick, you can always try making a batch of gluten-free homemade Twix with this simple recipe. Check out the recipe below ⬇️

Gluten-Free Twix Recipe

A simple twist on the traditional candy, just exchange a few ingredients for their gluten-free counterparts and you have a batch of yummy GF Twix bars! Find the Gluten-Free Twix Bars recipe at The Loopy Whisk.

The Takeaway

Even though the traditional Twix candy bars are not gluten-free, there are several tasty alternatives to satisfy your craving. You could even try to make your own GF twix bars at home. So go ahead and indulge without feeling guilty!

To find out more about what to eat and not to eat when following a gluten free diet, check out the “Is It Gluten Free?” library.

Happy Snacking!

Rebekah ❤️