For those of us living with a gluten intolerance or who have Celiac Disease, it can be difficult (and often frustrating) to find foods that fit our dietary restrictions. Cooking at home is often the easiest way to avoid getting accidentally “glutened” but what about those ingredients that aren’t so easy to classify as gluten-free or not? Ingredients like sesame.
Whether seeds or oil, sesame can add lots of savory flavor to your dishes, but before we whip up some sesame chicken (yummy!) let’s make sure we’re stayin’ in our gluten-free lane.
Is Sesame Gluten Free?
To answer that question let’s find out what exactly is sesame anyway. Many people mistakenly believe that sesame is a grain and therefore not safe to eat. However, sesame is actually a seed! Because of that, sesame seeds are gluten-free.
Check out this cool photo of a sesame plant!
They’re good for you too! They are a great source of protein, healthy fats, B vitamins, and other beneficial plant compounds.
An important note – just because it’s gluten-free does not mean it’s allergy free. If you are allergic to tree nuts be cautious with sesame seeds. A large portion of people who suffer tree nut allergies are also allergic to sesame seeds.
Where can I find sesame seeds in the store?
They are usually found with the spices in the baking section of the store.
Is Sesame Oil Gluten Free?
Sesame seed oil is a popular cooking oil that is derived from sesame seeds. It has a nutty flavor and is often used in Asian cuisine. Because sesame oil is usually derived from sesame seeds as the only ingredient, regular sesame oil is generally gluten free.
While sesame oil does not contain any gluten, it is important to check the label carefully if you are cooking for someone with celiac disease or gluten intolerance. Some manufacturers add wheat products to their sesame oil during the manufacturing process, so be sure to check the nutrition facts and look for a product with a gluten-free certification.
With a little bit of care, you can enjoy sesame oil while maintaining a GF diet.
Popular Gluten Free Sesame Oil Brands
When shopping for GF Sesame Oil, here are some brands to look for:
- Kikkoman Sesame Oil
- Kroger Pure Sesame Oil
Where to Find Sesame Oil in Grocery Stores
It’s usually located by other international food items, like soy sauce.
Is Tahini Gluten Free?
Tahini is a smooth paste made from ground sesame seeds and is often used in Mediterranean and Middle Eastern cuisine. So, is tahini gluten free?
The answer is yes! Tahini does not contain any gluten so it can be enjoyed by those living a gluten-free lifestyle. Hooray for delicious sauces that everyone can enjoy!
GF Sesame Chicken Recipe
Now that we know sesame is gluten free, let’s put that knowledge to good use with a mouth-watering Sesame Chicken recipe from One Lovely Life. Using toasted sesame oil, this take-out favorite is sure to please even your pickiest family members or dinner guests. Give it a try!
So, is sesame gluten free? The answer is a resounding YES! Sesame seeds are naturally gluten-free and can be found in most grocery stores. When cooking with sesame oil, be sure to check the label carefully for any potential cross-contamination, but otherwise, you’re good to go! Adding some delicious flavor to your dishes is easy and hassle free. Enjoy!
Want to Learn More?
For more information about the gluten free diet and to read my story, check out the article What Is Gluten Free Mean Anyway?
Just want an easy run-down of what to eat and not eat on gluten free diet? Read through the Is It Gluten Free? category.