Lavash bread is commonly used to make wraps, sandwiches, and it can also be torn into pieces and used to scoop up dips or sauces. It’s quite the versatile bread! But is it gluten-free?
Is Lavash Bread Gluten-Free?
The short answer is No, Lavash bread is not gluten-free. The wheat flour used to make lavash wraps disqualifies this bread from our gluten-free diet, so while delicious, it does contain gluten.
Now here’s the longer answer…
Fortunately, we live in 2023 where we can take almost any baked goods and make them gluten-free! By simply swapping out the wheat flour for gluten-free flour, this once off-limits food becomes a perfectly healthy choice. It really is a good time to eat gluten-free!
What is Gluten?
Gluten is a protein found in wheat, barley, rye, and some other grains. It is responsible for the elastic and chewy texture of bread and other baked goods made with these grains.
For people with celiac disease, gluten can trigger an autoimmune response that damages the lining of the small intestine. This can lead to a range of symptoms, including abdominal pain, bloating, diarrhea, and fatigue.
For people with non-celiac gluten sensitivity, gluten can cause similar symptoms, but without the autoimmune response.
Okay, So What is Lavash Bread Exactly?
Similar to pita bread, Lavash is a traditional flatbread that is popular in Middle Eastern and Mediterranean cuisines. It is a thin, soft, and flexible bread that can be folded or rolled.
Lavash bread is typically made with flour, water, and salt, and sometimes yeast.
They roll out the dough thinly and then bake it in a hot oven or hot surface such as a tandoor or a griddle.
You can eat it as a wrap, with dips, you could even make it into a Lavash pizza. It is meant to be eaten right away but if you have leftovers, the bread quickly dries into crispy crackers and can be eaten on it’s own or crumbled into soups.
Is Lavash Bread Healthy?
Lavash is similar to other whole grain breads because it is made with whole grains and is generally low in sodium and oil. Overall, Lavash is a healthy bread to make part of your daily diet!
Where Can I Buy Lavash?
Here is the US, Lavash is sold in several grocery stores including Trader Joes and Whole Foods.
As far as gluten-free Lavash bread from the store, unfortunately, I have yet to find any (let me know if you do!).
But there’s good news! The recipe to make it at home is fairly simple. Check it out below.
Homemade Gluten-Free Lavash Bread
Ready to try making your own Lavash bread at home? Okay, let’s do this!
First things first. Round up your ingredients. For this recipe you will need:
- 180 grams gluten-free all purpose baking flour
- 30 grams brown rice flour
- 1 tsp xanthan gum
- 4 tsp corn starch
- 1/4 tsp instant yeast
- 3/4 cup warm water or milk
- 2 tsp vegetable oil
- 1 tsp honey
- 1 tsp salt
Next, check out this very detailed and informative article from Serious Eats. I love how the author covers every possible problem you might encounter while baking this bread. The article is written for wheat flour, so to make gluten-free flatbread, you will have to make two substitutions.
- Instead of all purpose flour use gluten-free all purpose flour with 1 tsp of xanthan gum mixed in.
- The second substitution is for the whole wheat flour. Use brown rice flour instead.
So while Lavash bread does traditionally contain wheat flour making it not suitable for those with celiac disease or gluten intolerance, it is possible make your own GF Lavash.