Do you love Captain, AKA Cap’n, Crunch cereal? If you’re gluten-free, you may be wondering if this classic breakfast cereal is safe for you to eat. Let’s take a look at the ingredients and see if we can figure out the answer!
Is Captain Crunch Gluten-Free in 2022?
Yes and no.
As you can see, there are no wheat, barley or rye products listed. There is oat flour, however, and that is where things get a little tricky.
Let’s take a closer look.
When asked if Captain Crunch was gluten-free, here is what the company had to say about it:
“The oats we buy are handled and transported in bulk by our suppliers. Cross contact can occur if the oats are grown in fields or transported in vehicles that once contained other grains. Since the kernels of the other grains are similar in size, shape and color to the oat kernel, it is almost impossible to separate them. Although wheat, rye and barley are not part of the ingredients in Cap’n Crunch, there is the possibility that they could contain trace amounts of these grains. For these reasons, we do not label these products gluten free.”
Read their response on official website, Pepsico.com
Overall, the main concern with this cereal is cross-contamination which often happens with oats that are not certified gluten-free. So if you have a mild gluten intolerance, Captain Crunch might not bother you. If you have celiac disease, however, choose a certified gluten-free cereal instead.
Related Article: Top 13 Gluten Free Cereals
What Exactly is Gluten? What Should I look Out For?
Gluten is a protein found in wheat, barley and rye. It can also be found in products made with these grains, such as some cereals, pastas and baked goods.
If you’re gluten-free, you need to avoid eating foods that contain gluten. This can be difficult because gluten is found in many common foods.
The easiest way to avoid gluten, is to choose foods that are naturally gluten-free. Things like fruit, vegetables, and meat. When buying packaged items look for products that are labeled “gluten-free.” These products have been specially made to be safe for people with gluten sensitivities.
Captain (Cap’n Crunch) Ingredients
The primary ingredients in this popular cereal include Corn Flour, Sugar, Oat Flour, Brown Sugar, Palm and/or Coconut Oil, Salt, Reduced Iron, Yellow 5, Niacinamide, Zinc Oxide, Yellow 6, Thiamin Mononitrate, Riboflavin, BHT ( Preservative ), Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Folic Acid, and Tocopherols ( Preservative ).
Is Captain (Cap’n) Crunch Oops All Berries Gluten-Free?
No, Cap’n Crunch Oops All Berries cereal is not gluten-free.
For the same reasons listed above, none of the varieties in this product line considered certified gluten-free or safe for those with celiac disease.
Gluten-Free Alternatives to Captain Crunch Cereal
Okay, okay. We’re not going to eat Cap’n Crunch, so what else can have? There’s an alternative right?
Yes! If you have been following a gluten-free diet for a while, you know the key to happiness is in hunting down tasty alternatives to your favorite foods.
So let’s go hunting for some gluten-free cereals!
- Barbara’s Puffins Honey Rice Cereal – made with rice and only 5 grams of sugar per serving, this tasty cereal is good for kids and adults alike.
- Gluten-Free Honey Vanilla Crunch Cereal from Cascadian Farm – made with a blend of organic ingredients including whole grain corn, sorghum, sweet potato and chickpeas, this breakfast cereal is another healthy and safe choice.
The Take Away
Overall, if you are avoiding gluten in your diet, Cap’n Crunch is not a completely safe choice. The good news is there are many delicious and healthy alternatives available that will satisfy your breakfast cereal cravings. As always, be sure to check labels carefully to make sure the product is labeled gluten-free before purchasing.
I hope this article was helpful in answering the question, “Is Cap’n Crunch gluten free?” Be sure to check out the resources I’ve listed below for more information on this topic and happy breakfast cereal hunting! Until next time, friends! 🙂
Curious about other gluten-free cereals? Check out these articles.